What Information Can You Find in SBI Clerk Notification 2021?

The SBI conducts exams every year for eligible candidates aspiring to be Junior Associates (customer support and sales). The exam is usually conducted in two stages, namely, prelims and mains.

If the candidate manages to clear both stages, they must take a local language test. The SBI clerk notification 2021 is released on the official website and contains details like the eligibility criteria, age limit, number of vacancies, etc.


Details regarding vacancies will be elaborated on in the notification. The SBI notified over 8000 vacancies for the exam conducted in the previous year. This number may increase or reduce based on the requirements of the bank. Vacancies are also subject to reservation based on caste and economic status. A certain percentage of seats is always reserved for EWS candidates, OBC candidates, and SC/ST candidates.

Pay Scale

The notification contains details about the salary structure and pays scale. It lists the expected Basic Pay, allowances, perks, and also the structure of increments. The pay may vary depending on the city where the clerk is posted.

Eligibility Criteria

This section of the SBI clerk notification 2021 specifies details regarding the eligibility of candidates.

Age Limit

To be eligible to take the exam, the candidate must be at least 20 years old. The upper age limit is 28 for general category candidates, 33 for SC/ST candidates, 38 for persons with disabilities, 43 for SC/ST candidates with disabilities, 41 for OBC candidates with disabilities, and 33 for Jammu & Kashmir migrants. Ex-servicemen, Ex-servicemen’s widows, and divorced women also have specified upper age limits.


The candidate must be an Indian citizen. If not, you must be a subject of Bhutan or Nepal or a Tibetan refugee. A Person of Indian Origin (PIO) who has migrated from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, or specified East African countries intending to settle in India permanently is also eligible to appear for the exam provided they hold an eligibility certificate issued by the Government of India.

Educational Qualification

The candidate is eligible only if he/she is a graduate of any discipline from a recognized university


Syllabus and Exam Pattern

The exam is conducted in two phases. The test will consist of three sections in the prelims stage, namely, Reasoning Ability, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Language. The mains exam has four sections. The fourth section is General/Financial Awareness.

Knowing the syllabus is essential for exam preparation. There are only slight variations between the syllabus of the prelims exam and the mains exam.

Application Fee and Procedure

The fee required to be paid by the candidate will be mentioned in the notification. The notification will also contain details on how to apply, what documents the aspirant will need to upload, and prescribed modes of fee payment.

The Notification Contains All You Need to Know

As an aspirant, it would be wise to read the notification carefully before applying. This will help you avoid mistakes while applying. You will also have a good understanding of what details and documents you’ll need to upload.